AFGE Winners of 2021 Union Plus and Kaiser Permanente Wellness Scholarships Announced

Categories: Benefits, The Insider

Congratulations to the winners of the 2021 Union Plus and Kaiser Permanente Wellness Scholarships! 

The Kaiser Permanente Wellness Scholarship is an annual scholarship program inaugurated in 2020. Scholarship applications are judged by a committee of impartial post-secondary educators. Applicants were asked to write an essay of 500 words or less examining their own decision to join AFGE, their knowledge of what a union is, what it means to be represented by AFGE, and then describe what they would say to convince a co-worker to join AFGE. 

The Union Plus Scholarship Program, now in its 30th year, awards scholarships based on outstanding academic achievement, personal character, financial need, and commitment to the values of organized labor. The program is offered through the Union Plus Education Foundation.  

Kaiser Permanente Wellness Scholarship Winners 

A total of five AFGE members were chosen to each receive $1.000, and one received $1500 from the Kaiser Permanente Wellness Scholarship.  

The winners are: 

Eric Pohl of AFGE Local 704 in Independence, Ohio ($1500) 

Andrew Larkin of AFGE Local 1626 in Mechanicsburg, PA ($1000) 

Merissa McFadden of AFGE Local 1033 in Converse, TX ($1000) 

Ashley Mendoza of AFGE Local 507 in West Palm Beach, FL )$1000) 

Latoya McBride of AFGE Local 525 in Sumter, SC ($1000) 

Carlos Thompson of AFGE Local 1923 in Glen Burnie, MD ($1000) 

2021 Union Plus Scholarships 

Union Plus recently awarded $250,000 in scholarships to 199 students representing 37 unions, including six winners representing AFGE. This year’s group of scholarship recipients includes university, college, and trade or technical school students from 42 states. 

The AFGE winners are:  

Diego Barros of Orlando, Florida. Barros, whose father, Alex Barros, is a member of AFGE Local 559, has been awarded a $4,000 scholarship. 

Imani Coger of Shelby Township, Michigan. Coger, whose mother, Sara Coger, is a member of AFGE Local 1658, has been awarded a $1,000 scholarship. 

Jalin Coleman of Omaha, Nebraska. Coleman, whose father, Ray Coleman, is a member of AFGE Local 1570, has been awarded a $1,000 scholarship. 

Paige Maynard of Gillette, Wyoming. Maynard, whose father, David Maynard, is a member of AFGE Local 3416, has been awarded a $500 scholarship. 

Eric Pohl of Independence, Ohio. Pohl, who is a member of AFGE Local 704, has been awarded a $1,250 scholarship. 

Mikhai Richardson of Kansas City, Missouri. Richardson, whose mother, April Watson, is a member of AFGE Local 3960, has been awarded a $1,000 scholarship. 

Recent AFGE News:

AFGE Honors Disability Pride Month

July 19, 2021

July is Disability Pride Month, and AFGE is proud to show solidarity with the disability community during this month of reflection, visibility, and concrete action.

Read More

AFGE Events

Event Calendar is for Members Only. Please Log In to see our calendar of events.


SUBSCRIBE Latest news & info