SAG-AFTRA Honors Union Members in Film, Television

Categories: Member Benefits, Labor

Did you know that the SAG-AFTRA awards is the only televised award show of, by, and for union members? SAG-AFTRA (Screen Actors Guild-American Federation of Television and Radio Artists) is a labor union representing more than 160,000 film, radio, television performers and journalists worldwide. The organization honors outstanding motion picture and television performances every year. This year the award ceremony took place last weekend at the Los Angeles Shrine Exposition Center where Debbie Reynolds received the union's highest honor, the 51st annual Life Achievement Award. 

Honored with individual awards were Patricia Arquette (“Boyhood”), Julianne Moore (“Still Alice”), Eddie Redmayne (“The Theory of Everything”) and J.K. Simmons (“Whiplash”) for performances in motion pictures and Uzo Aduba (“Orange Is the New Black”), Viola Davis (How to Get Away with Murder”), William H. Macy (“Shameless”), Frances McDormand (“Olive Kitteridge”), Mark Ruffalo (“The Normal Heart”) and Kevin Spacey (“House of Cards”) for performances in television. Click here for the entire list of award winners. 

The SAG Awards was the first televised awards show to acknowledge the work of union members. 

AFGE congratulates our sisters and brothers on their awards and their efforts to bring the values of unionism to the masses.  

For more information about SAG-AFTRA, click here.

AFGE Events

Event Calendar is for Members Only. Please Log In to see our calendar of events.


SUBSCRIBE Latest news & info