TSA Statement on CNN's Recent Air Marshal Coverage

Transportation Security Officers applying to become Federal Air Marshals go through the same training course as all other candidates. To date 36 Transportation Security Officers have qualified to join the Federal Air Marshal Service. Air Marshals have the highest marksmanship standard in the federal government. They have to qualify and complete re-current training four times as much as the average law enforcement organization.

There are seven areas of consideration used to develop nominees for the Distinguished Honor Graduate award. These areas of consideration were selected because they are representative of the core competencies and values required of a Federal Air Marshal. The areas are: academics, firearms, tactical information sharing system proficiency, physical training, tactical proficiency, student (peer) nomination, "professionalism, teamwork and leadership" (staff nomination).

The former TSO who received the Distinguished Honor Graduate award served four years with the U.S. Marine corps and had tours of duty in both Iraq and Kosovo. In addition he holds a Bachelor of Science degree (BS) in Criminal Justice.

More than 21 percent of the Transportation Security Officers currently working in the nation's airports served in the U.S. military.

Education level of Transportation Security Officers who have become Federal Air Marshals

High School

Some College / Associates Degree

Bachelors Degree

Masters or Advanced Degree

Join AFGE Today


Shutdown Lawsuit

Diversity Week

I Serve Veterans

Behind the Scenes

AFGE Events

Event Calendar is for Members Only. Please Log In to see our calendar of events.


SUBSCRIBE Latest news & info