Election Committee Report for April 15, 2020 Nomination Meeting

Due to the Covid-19 mandatory self-quarantining rules in effect, this meeting was conducted via Zoom. There were approximately 28 participants on this call. Notice of the meeting/call was sent to the membership via Union g-mail account and posted on the Union Facebook page. Notice of this meeting/call was also sent via regular mail to the addresses on record for the membership. Of the mailed notices, ten were returned as undeliverable. Multiple attempts were made to contact all ten individuals for whom the mail was returned, and voicemail messages were left, whenever possible, pertaining to the upcoming Nomination Meeting and the need for current address information from these individuals.

Although the meeting was scheduled for a 7 p.m. start time, the meeting did not begin in earnest until approximately 7:30 to allow for individuals who were having difficulty logging into the meeting to suss out any problems.

After other Union business was attended to, the meeting was turned over to Election Committee member Vincent Baehr since the Election Chair, Kellee Williams, was not on call. Mr. Baehr followed protocol for nominations, going down the line for each office. Information regarding the nominations for each office/position is as follows:

President:

Schwynn Wimbish McDuffie nominated Satin Lucas. Satin Lucas accepted.

Jerald "J.D." Dever nominated Jim Rihel. Jim Rihel accepted.

Vice-President:

Jim Rihel nominated Joe Malizia. Joe Malizia accepted.

Jerald "J.D." Dever nominated Kat Avant. Kat Avant declined.

Satin Lucas nominated Margaret LaRue. Margaret LaRue accepted.

Cynthia Banks nominated Eleanor Davis but Eleanor Davis was not available to accept.

Secretary:

Jim Rihel nominated LaVawn Green. LaVawn Green accepted.

Joe Malizia nominated Margaret LaRue. Margaret LaRue declined.

Chair declared LaVawn Green elected to this position by acclamation.

Treasurer:

Joe Malizia nominated Regina Newell. Regina Newell accepted.

Darla Still nominated Schwynn Wimbish McDuffie. Schwynn Wimbish McDuffie accepted.

Safety Officer:

No one was nominated.

Sergeant at Arms:

No one was nominated/no nomination accepted.

Women's Coordinator:

Jim Rihel nominated Diana Quinones. Diana Quinones accepted.

Tanya Garrett-Hagins nominated Eleanor Davis. Eleanor Davis was not available to accept.

Chair declared Diane Quinones elected to this position by acclamation.

Fair Practice Coordinator:

Tanya Garrett-Hagins nominated Eleanor Davis. Eleanor Davis accepted via email.

Chair declared Eleanor Davis elected to this position by acclamation.

Labor Management Representatives (eight positions were announced as available to be filled):

Joe Malizia nominated Rochelle Smith. Rochelle Smith was not available to accept.

Satin Lucas nominated Ahsaki Joyner. Ahsaki Joyner accepted.

Satin Lucas nominated Steve Huber. Steve Huber accepted.

Jim Rihel nominated Jerald "J.D." Dever. Jerald "J.D." Dever accepted.

Satin Lucas nominated Tanya Garrett-Hagins. Tanya Garrett-Hagins accepted.

Satin Lucas nominated Margaret LaRue. Margaret LaRue accepted.

Jim Rihel nominated Lakisha Bishop. Lakisha Bishop accepted.

Ahsaki Joyner nominated Satin Lucas. Satin Lucas accepted.

Satin Lucas nominated Diana Quinones. Diana Quinones declined.

Chair declared Ahsaki Joyner, Steve Huber, Jerald "J.D." Dever, Tanya Garrett-Haggins, Margaret LaRue, Lakisha Bishop, and Satin Lucas elected to this position by acclamation.

Labor Management Representative-Wilmington:

No one was nominated.

At this point, the nominations were closed, and the Chair passed the meeting back over to Union President Jim Rihel. There were questions pertaining to the nomination process, with many members speaking over each other. Eventually, as the meeting devolved into individuals speaking over each other, the meeting was concluded.

Since that time, the Election Committee received emails questioning the procedures and results of the meeting, The Election Committee conferred with AFGE General Counsel, reviewed the Zoom meeting and determined that the Nomination Meeting results stand.