2021 KP Wellness Scholarship Winners

A total of five AFGE members were chosen to each receive $1.000, and one received $1500 from the Kaiser Permanente Wellness Scholarship. This is an annual scholarship program inaugurated in 2020. Applicants applied for the KP Wellbeing Scholarship through the Union Plus Scholarship application which is completed on-line.

Scholarship applications are judged by a committee of impartial post-secondary educators. Applicants were asked to write an essay of 500 words or less examining their own decision to join AFGE, their knowledge of what a union is, what it means to be represented by AFGE, and then describe what they would say to convince a co-worker to join AFGE. Administration costs were held to a minimum which provided an extra $1,000 to be awarded.

The winners were notified by letter and are:

  • Eric Pohl of  AFGE Local 704 in Independence, Ohio ($1500)
  • Andrew Larkin of  AFGE Local 1626 in Mecanicsburg, PA ($1000)
  • Merissa McFadden of AFGE Local 1033 in Converse, TX ($1000)
  • Ashley Mendoza of AFGE Local 507 in West Palm Beach, FL )$1000)
  • Latoya McBride of AFGE Local 525 in Sumter, SC ($1000)
  • Carlos Thompson of AFGE Local 1923 in Glen Burnie, MD ($1000)

The Kaiser Permanente Wellness Scholarship is an annual event. Applications are available online around September of each year and the deadline to apply is January 31st. Winners are announce in June.

SUBSCRIBE Latest news & info

AFGE Events

Event Calendar is for Members Only. Please Log In to see our calendar of events.