AFGE Secures Locality Pay Increase for 102K Feds in 78 Counties

Categories: Pay

About 102,000 federal employees in 78 counties throughout the U.S. are slated to receive a locality pay raise in January. Two weeks ago, AFGE secured a locality pay increase for federal employees in 13 new cities. We’re happy to report that nine counties have been added to the 13 new locality areas and 69 counties have been added to old locality areas.

The nine counties that have been added to new locality pay areas are: 

Fremont County, CO, and Pueblo County, CO, to the Colorado Springs, CO, locality pay area; Lancaster County, PA, to the Harrisburg-York-Lebanon, PA, locality pay area; Jackson County, KS, Jefferson County, KS, Osage County, KS, Shawnee County, KS, and Wabaunsee County, KS to the Kansas City-Overland Park-Kansas City, MO-KS, locality pay area; and Cochise County, AZ, to the Tucson-Nogales, AZ, locality pay area.

The 69 counties that have been added to old locality pay areas are:

Atlanta—Athens-Clarke County—Sandy Springs, GA

Clarke County, GA; Gordon County, GA; Jackson County, GA; Madison County, GA; Morgan County, GA; Oconee County, GA; and Oglethorpe County, GA.

Boston-Worcester-Providence, MA-RI-NH-CT-ME

Androscoggin County, ME; Cumberland County, ME; Sagadahoc County, ME; and all portions of York County, ME, that are currently in the “Rest of U.S.” locality pay area.

Chicago-Naperville, IL-IN-WI

Bureau County, IL; LaSalle County, IL; and Putnam County, IL.

Cincinnati-Wilmington-Maysville, OH-KY-IN

Mason County, KY, and Union County, IN.

Cleveland-Akron-Canton, OH

Carroll County, OH; Erie County, OH; Huron County, OH; Stark County, OH; and Tuscarawas County, OH.

Columbus-Marion-Zanesville, OH

Guernsey County, OH; Hocking County, OH; Logan County, OH; Muskingum County, OH; and Perry County, OH.

Dallas-Fort Worth, TX-OK

Bryan County, OK; Hopkins County, TX; and Navarro County, TX.

Dayton-Springfield-Sidney, OH

Shelby County, OH.

Houston-The Woodlands, TX

Trinity County, TX; Washington County, TX; and Wharton County, TX.

Huntsville-Decatur-Albertville, AL

Marshall County, AL.

Indianapolis-Carmel-Muncie, IN

Decatur County, IN; Delaware County, IN; and Jackson County, IN.

Los Angeles-Long Beach, CA

All portions of Kern County, CA, currently included in the “Rest of U.S.” locality pay area.

Miami-Fort Lauderdale-Port St. Lucie, FL

Indian River County, FL; Martin County, FL; Okeechobee County, FL; and St. Lucie County, FL.

Milwaukee-Racine-Waukesha, WI

Dodge County, WI; Jefferson County, WI; and Walworth County, WI.

Minneapolis-St. Paul, MN-WI

Le Sueur County, MN; Mille Lacs County, MN; and Sibley County, MN.

New York-Newark, NY-NJ-CT-PA

Carbon County, PA; Lehigh County, PA; and Northampton County, PA.

Pittsburgh-New Castle-Weirton, PA-OH-WV

Jefferson County, OH; Indiana County, PA; Brooke County, WV; and Hancock County, WV.

Portland-Vancouver-Salem, OR-WA

Benton County, OR; Linn County, OR; and Cowlitz County, WA.

Raleigh-Durham-Chapel Hill, NC

Lee County, NC; Robeson County, NC; Scotland County, NC; Vance County, NC; and all portions of Granville County, NC, currently included in the “Rest of U.S.” locality pay area.

Seattle-Tacoma, WA

Lewis County, WA.

Washington-Baltimore-Arlington, DC-MD-VA-WV-PA

Dorchester County, MD; Kent County, MD; Talbot County, MD; Franklin County, PA; and Rappahannock County, VA.

These changes to locality pay areas can be found in a proposed rule published this week in the Federal Register by the Office of Personnel Management (OPM). OPM’s action moves us one step closer to providing relief to federal employees who have suffered from pay freezes and below-market salaries.

AFGE Events

Event Calendar is for Members Only. Please Log In to see our calendar of events.


SUBSCRIBE Latest news & info