Senate Panel Fails to Confirm MSPB Nominees

Categories: The Insider

The Senate Homeland Security and Governmental Affairs Committee Nov. 28 failed to confirm Trump’s nominees to sit on the Merit Systems Protection Board (MSPB), a quasi-judicial agency that considers appeals from federal employees who are the subject of adverse personnel actions. 


The three nominees were Dennis Dean Kirk, Andrew Maunz, and Julia Clark.  


Kirk and Maunz were nominated to serve as Chairman and Vice Chairman respectively. 


The committee voted on Maunz’s nomination first but lacked enough votes to move his nomination forward. The panel never got to the two other nominees as Committee Chairman Ron Johnson said he wouldn’t allow other votes unless members agreed to clear Maunz, an attorney for the Social Security Administration’s Office of General Counsel.

AFGE Events

Event Calendar is for Members Only. Please Log In to see our calendar of events.


SUBSCRIBE Latest news & info