October 05, 2013
Tim Kauffman
[email protected]

AFGE Statement on Passage of Bill Providing Back Pay to Furloughed Federal Workers

WASHINGTON – American Federation of Government Employees National President J. David Cox Sr. today commended unanimous House passage of H.R. 3223, a bill to provide retroactive pay to the 800,000 federal employees who have been furloughed as a result of the lockout.

In particular, Cox thanked Reps. Jim Moran and Frank Wolf for their bipartisan leadership on this important issue. Including Moran and Wolf, all those who spoke on the floor expressed support for the legislation, including Reps. Elijah Cummings, Stephen Lynch, Gerry Connolly, Chris Van Hollen, Derek Kilmer, Ben Ray Lujan, Ruben Hinojosa, Donna Edwards, G.K. Butterfield, Michael Turner, Robert Wittman, Lee Terry, Candice Miller, Mike Coffman, Rodney Davis, Blake Farenthold, and Keith Rothfus.

Cox called on the Senate to bring up the legislation immediately under an expedited unanimous consent procedure.

SUBSCRIBE Latest news & info

AFGE Events

Event Calendar is for Members Only. Please Log In to see our calendar of events.