DEFCON Creates New Medical Employees Caucus

AFGE’s Defense Conference (DEFCON) has created a new caucus to focus on issues affecting health care workers throughout the Department of Defense.  

The new Medical Personnel Caucus was approved by members attending the AFGE Defense Conference Feb. 3-5 in Washington. It replaces a previous DEFCON working group for health care professionals that had been established in 2011. 

AFGE Locals representing Defense medical workers selected the following officers to lead the new caucus: Paul Ferris, co-vice chair; Felicia Sharp, chair; and Katrise Newman, co-vice chair (above photo, left to right)

The new caucus will help elevate workplace and representation issues affecting the growing DoD medical community, which cuts across each of the military services. 

DEFCON also selected new leaders for several existing caucuses during its annual legislative conference in Washington. The new officers are: 


Chair: Don Hale
Vice Chair: Carl Dahms

Army Caucus

Chair: Don Hale
First Vice Chair: Ozia Scott
Second Vice Chair: Jeff Zuhlke

Air Force Caucus

Chair: Carl Dahms
First Vice Chair: Jennifer Grigsby
Second Vice Chair: Thad Wallace
Secretary: Jeanette McElhaney 

Defense Information Services Agency (DISA) Caucus

Chair: Reva Lang
Vice Chair: James Fogle

Depot Caucus

Chair: Rory Thomas
Vice Chair: Charles Barclay

Navy Caucus

Chair: Justin Wolfe
Vice Chair: Denise Nemeth-Greenleaf

Non-Appropriated Fund (NAF) Caucus

Chair: Jerry Galloway
Vice Chair: Michael Ferguson


Click here for a complete list of DEFCON Steering Group representatives.

Recent AFGE News:

Our Union Kicks off 41st Convention as Threats Mount

August 06, 2018

Our union has faced life-threatening challenges before, but these threats are different. We have politicians in the White House, the House, and the Senate who are hell bent on wiping us out. We have never had our union contracts unilaterally annulled, our union volunteers kicked out of offices, our work fighting injustice severely restricted or denied. That’s why this national convention is extremely important. The stakes have never been higher – and that's why our 41st Triennial National Convention is so important.

Read More

Why Your Coworkers Need to Join Our Union Now

August 06, 2018

With all the new anti-federal employee laws, pending bills, and Executive Orders, you may feel federal employees are the sole target of politicians. In reality, these politicians have been coming after all working people for decades.

Read More

Join AFGE Today


AFGE Events

Event Calendar is for Members Only. Please Log In to see our calendar of events.


SUBSCRIBE Latest news & info