J. David Cox Sworn in as President of Nation's Largest Federal and D.C. Government Workers Union

August 16, 2012

LAS VEGAS - J. David Cox was sworn in as national president of the American Federation of Government Employees Thursday, August 16, 2012 during the union´s 39th National Convention in Las Vegas. Cox was elected president Wednesday.

Eugene Hudson Jr. elected National-Secretary Treasurer, and Augusta Thomas ,reelected National Vice President for Women´s and Fair Practices, also took the oath of office.

Left to right: NST Hudson, NVP for WFP Augusta Thomas, NP J. David Cox

Cox rises to the union´s top position after serving two consecutive terms as AFGE´s National Secretary-Treasurer, where he helped the union add more than 52,000 new members and expand the size and scope of AFGE´s political action committee and its legislative action fund.

Cox said he would work on strengthening the union by embracing the union´s diverse membership and building consensus among members.

"The strength of unity is the only way we are going to fight back against the anti-government and anti-union forces that want to dismantle the vital programs and services federal employees provide each and every day to millions of Americans," Cox said. "I am honored and humbled that AFGE´s members chose me to lead this fight."

Hudson has served as National Vice President for the 12th District since 1999. The 12th District represents nearly 33,000 members across 100 AFGE Locals in Arizona, California, Hawaii and Nevada.

Thomas was first elected National Vice President for Women´s and Fair Practices in August 2009. Previously she was Fair Practices coordinator for AFGE´s 6th District, which represents employees in Indiana, Kentucky and Ohio.



Event Calendar is for Members Only. Please Log In to see our calendar of events.

Log In



Subscribe Latest news & info