September 11, 2013
Tim Kauffman
[email protected]

AFGE Officers Reelected to AFL-CIO Executive Council

WASHINGTON – The American Federation of Government Employees is proud to announce that National President J. David Cox Sr. and District 10 National Vice President Rogelio “Roy” Flores were reelected as AFL-CIO Vice Presidents during the quadrennial convention in Los Angeles on Tuesday.

Three national officers and 55 vice presidents make up the AFL-CIO Executive Council, which guides the daily work of the federation. AFL-CIO is the umbrella labor federation representing more than 12 million working men and women nationwide.

“AFGE’s membership in the AFL-CIO ensures that the 670,000 federal and D.C. government workers we represent have a voice in guiding the future of the entire American labor movement. We are both eager to work with the newly elected officers to build a vibrant and broadly inclusive labor movement that will serve as the voice for all of America’s workers,” Cox said.

During the convention, delegates reelected Richard Trumka to a second term as AFL-CIO President, while Elizabeth Shuler was reelected to a second term as AFL-CIO Secretary-Treasurer. Tefere Gebre, a 45-year-old Ethiopian political refugee who immigrated to the United States as a teenager, was elected Executive Vice President.

SUBSCRIBE Latest news & info

AFGE Events

Event Calendar is for Members Only. Please Log In to see our calendar of events.