August 27, 2009
Michael Victorian
(202) 639-6405

John Gage Wins Third Term as President of Nation's Largest Federal and DC Government Workers Union

(Reno, NV) — Calling for an emphasis on unity, John Gage today was sworn in for a third term as president of the American Federation of Government Employees (AFGE), the nation’s largest union representing federal and DC government employees.

“There is much to do on behalf of federal workers,” Gage told convention delegates after the swearing in ceremony. “It’s our turn. Our focus is now on the midterm congressional elections and making sure the American people have the public services they deserve. We plan to help elect a Congress with men and women who are actually responsive to the needs of the American people, particularly the nation’s working families,” he added.

J. David Cox was elected by acclamation as the National-Secretary Treasurer. During his acceptance speech, Cox appealed to delegates to make a commitment to make AFGE a leader in the labor movement. “This union is great and has the capacity to be even greater.” Cox said.

Augusta Thomas was elected to as the new National Vice President, Women’s and Fair Practices, and told convention delegates that “the best is yet to come.” She also asked that AFGE members focus on “hope, positive thinking and action.” Thomas’ was formerly the Fair Practices coordinator for AFGE’s District 6, which represents federal employees in Indiana, Kentucky, and Ohio.

SUBSCRIBE Latest news & info

AFGE Events

Event Calendar is for Members Only. Please Log In to see our calendar of events.