Meet 5 New AFGE National Vice Presidents!

Categories: The Insider

Congratulations to AFGE's new National Vice Presidents (NVPs) recently elected to represent locals and members in five geographic areas. 

AFGE locals cast their ballots to elect NVPs for their districts every three years. Here are the results of the latest elections, which took place between August and October 2020. The bolded names are new NVPs. 

District 2 - David Gonzalez 

District 3 - Phil Glover 

District 4 - Dan Doyle 

District 5 - David Mollett 

District 6 - Arnold Scott 

District 7 - Dorothy James 

District 8 - Gregg James 

District 9 - Shawn Petty 

District 10 - Cheryl Eliano 

District 11 - Tim Snyder 

District 12 - Mario Campos 

District 14 - Ottis Johnson Jr. 

Getting to know our new NVPs  

Dist. 2 NVP David Gonzalez  

David Gonzalez

David Gonzalez is the District 2 National Vice President for the American Federation of Government Employees, representing federal employees in New Jersey, New York, Connecticut, Maine, Vermont, Massachusetts, New Hampshire and Rhode Island. He was elected to the position in October 2020.  

A Navy veteran, Gonzalez joined the Bureau of Prisons (BOP) in May 1991 and immediately became a member of AFGE Local 3975 where he eventually served as shop steward, vice president, and then president.  

A steadfast family man, Gonzalez lives in southern New Jersey. He’s in his 2nd term as a Committeeman of Fairfield Township and endorsed by the NJ AFL-CIO. He and his wife Janet are proud of their daughters and grandchildren. He looks forward to working with the Locals and members of the 2nd District. 

Dist. 9 NVP Shawn Petty 

Shawn Petty

On 3 Oct. 2020, Shawn Petty was elected National Vice President of the American Federation of Government Employees 9th District. He represents AFGE members in the states of Arkansas, Kansas, Missouri, and Oklahoma.  

Petty has served as AFGE's 9th District National Fair Practices Affirmative Action Coordinator for the past 12 years. During his tenure, he has advocated for the 9th District in EEOC matters that advance equal and fair treatment for the District.  

Petty served 13 years in the United States Air Force, including being honored to be appointed to the Honor Guard and Drill Team.  

In his spare time, he enjoys photography, working on computers, and spending time with his family. 


Dist. 11 NVP Tim Snyder  

Tim Snyder
Tim Snyder is the District 11 National Vice President for the American Federation of Government Employees, representing federal employees in Alaska, Colorado, Guam, Idaho, Montana, Okinawa, Oregon, Utah, Washington and Wyoming. He was elected to the position in October 2020.   

Snyder was raised in a union household. His father was a longtime AFGE member and his mother worked for and was a member of the Laborers International Union of North America (LIUNA). He joined Laborers Local 1271 in 1978 and was member there until he took a job with the U.S. Air Force at F.E. Warren AFB in his hometown of Cheyenne, Wyoming in 1993.   

In 1993, he joined AFGE Local 2354 at F.E. Warren and has been an AFGE member for the last 27 years.  

He served as a steward from 1993 until 2000. In 2000, he was elected local president and served in that position until 2006. In 2006, Snyder took a job with AFGE as a legislative and political organizer working with locals and councils in every district across the federation.   

Snyder describes himself as a family man who loves to hunt, fish, and ride his ATV. He has been married to his wife and best friend Theresa for 41 years, has two grown children, Jessica and Travis, as well as his granddaughter Harley, a 2020 graduate of the University of Wyoming with a degree in Biology.  

Dist. 12 NVP Mario Campos  

Mario Campos
Mario Campos is the District 12 National Vice President of the American Federation of Government Employees, representing federal employees in California, Arizona, Nevada and Hawaii. He was elected District 12 NVP in September of 2020.  

Campos is a combat veteran of the United States Marine Corps. After his service to our country, he continued to serve the local community in law enforcement as a deputy with the Yuma County Sheriff’s Office. He continued his service to the public as a United States Border Patrol Agent for over 13 years. He has been a union member since 2007 and has also served as a Local union steward, Local vice president and Local president for Local 2595. He has a bachelor's degree in Criminal Justice and Public Agency Management from University of Phoenix. 

Campos was born in Mexicali, Baja California, Mexico, and is the oldest of his siblings. He was brought to the United States as a child and was raised by both of his parents in Southern California.  

Dist. 14 NVP Ottis Johnson, Jr. 

Ottis Johnson
Ottis Johnson, Jr. is the newly elected National Vice President of the 14th District of the American Federation of Government Employees representing workers in the D.C. Metropolitan area and Europe. He was elected to this position in September 2020. 

Johnson has been a union activist for more than 26 years, most recently as the three-term president of AFGE Local 1831 representing employees at the National Gallery of Art.   

He began his activism in 1994 as a steward of United Food and Commercial Workers. In 2011, he began his federal career with the National Gallery of Art and immediately joined AFGE.  

Johnson continues to be an active member in his union and his community. He is the pastor of New Jerusalem Missionary Baptist Church in Baltimore, Md.; member of the Maryland Democrats; two-term president of AFGE Council 1 and current Sergeant at Arms; member of AFGE’s Veterans Council; member of Coalition of Black Trade Unionists; member of A. Philip Randolph Institute; presidential-level PAC contributor; member of the Poor People’s Campaign, and member of Prince Edward Lodge #1, Prince Hall Origin, Inc.   

Johnson is a proud 9-year veteran of the United States Army, and he and his wife Tracey are the proud parents of two daughters, Makayla and Maleah. 

Recent AFGE News:

AFGE Events

Event Calendar is for Members Only. Please Log In to see our calendar of events.


SUBSCRIBE Latest news & info