Law Enforcement Committee

Potential Future Events: 

AFGE's 2019 Law Enforcement Officer of the Year Border Patrol Agent Jonathan Morales

AFGE’s Law Enforcement Office of the Year Award goes to…Border Patrol Agent Jonathan Morales who saved lives at the Chabad of Poway Synagogue shooting in San Diego last year.


The objective of the AFGE Law Enforcement Steering Committee is to provide assistance to all law enforcement personnel within AFGE by providing unity of action in all matters affecting the mutual interest of Law Enforcement personnel, nationally. 

The AFGE Law Enforcement Steering Committee will strive to provide an environment that promotes professional development, acknowledges Law Enforcement contributions, and supports collaborative efforts in furthering the betterment of working conditions for all of Law Enforcement.

Note: AFGE LEO Committee is not a bargaining council, but assists with and refers members to their Council and Local as appropriate. 

For more information or questions email [email protected].

AFGE Law Enforcement Officer Workforce Issues and Legislation 

AFGE strongly supports the following legislation directly related to federal law enforcement officers. 

  • H.R. 962 Law Enforcement Officer Equity Act would grant all federal law enforcement officers (LEOs) access to federal benefits including 6C special retirement benefits due to the level of training required and greater danger present in their profession. Introduced by Representative Bill Pascrell (NJ-9) in the House and Senator Cory Booker (D-NJ) in the Senate. House Cosponsors 
  • S. 1888 Law Enforcement Officer Equity Act Senate bill introduced by Senators Cory Booker (D-NJ) and Rob Portman (R-OH). Senate Cosponsors 
  • H.R.1210 - LEOSA Reform Act would improve the Law Enforcement Officer Safety Act and provisions relating to the carrying of concealed weapons by law enforcement officers.  This bill permits certain qualified current and retired law enforcement officers to carry firearms in certain federal facilities. Introduced by Representative Don Bacon (NE-2) House Cosponsors


  • BOP/CPL: Joe Rojas
  • Border Patrol/NBPC: Eric Sparkman
  • VA/NVAC: Andrew Peterson (Chair)
  • DOD/DEFCON: Gene Racano (Vice Chair)
  • FPS: Anthony Lopes
  • DC Metro/D14: Yolanda Kent (Secretary)


  • Communications: (Vacant) Matthew Humphry (VA)
  • Field Services Education and Training: Jim Aldridge (VA)
  • Legislative Political Mobilization: John Dunne (DOD)
  • Membership and Organizing: Brendan Sullivan (DOD)
  • Retirees & Legislative Coordinator: Don Drewett (BOP/CPL)  
  • Women's and Fair Practice: (Vacant) Jason Anderson (Border Patrol)

SUBSCRIBE Latest news & info

AFGE Events

Event Calendar is for Members Only. Please Log In to see our calendar of events.